#tbt

(that’s throwback Thursday)

Today I posted this picture on instagram- throwback to the end of freshman year of college. Part of me feels like it was just yesterday, yet another part feels like I’ve lived a couple lives since these pictures were taken five years ago.

photo

Shortly after, I headed south of the border for my first summer in MX, and at the end of my first week I wrote this…

Nevertheless, it is clear that the process was also part of God’s will. I am different because of it. Had God written it on the sky ‘Hanna, this is what I want you to do’ I would have gained little, would be greatly lacking in faith, and in all reality, I probably wouldn’t respond. So here I am in Mexico, one week in, and there is no telling what the end result really looks like. At the same time I come to wonder is this the end result or am I in the process of responding to God’s calling for another part of my life?

Looking back it seems I was onto something. And I could write the same thing again now. Five years later and halfway into my masters degree (that sounds weird), I can see clearly that I was just at the beginning of a process that would take me places I never imagined. Had God written it on the sky ‘Hanna, this is what I want you to do’ I would have gained little, would be greatly lacking in faith, and in all reality, I probably wouldn’t respond.

It wasn’t until the end of the summer that I even knew there were such things as orphanages for children with special needs let alone one down the road and in most every country around the world. I was destined for PT school (yes, I thought PT) just outside Little Rock (yes, returning to AR). I am ever so grateful for the process.

In grad school (or really in any stage of life), the process can seem neverending, overwhelming, and simply frustrating. How quickly I am to weep over the present as if its the end of the story when its only the first page. How quickly I surrender faith to the unseen.

Going to Mexico the first time or the second or fifth time… or other trips, or going to Baylor or doing Elevate or moving to NC…. None of these mark the end of the story nor does a financial hardship, a challenging dynamic or an impossible circumstance . They don’t fulfill the purpose of my life, nor will another degree or a job, or a move overseas.

My life purpose is to bring God glory. And that’s a sure process. Though the book may be written, I must remember that this season of life is not the last page, but there is much to come.

Process is a beautiful thing. By God’s grace may I enjoy it as well.

One response to “#tbt

  • dvb-t

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

