Mustard Seeds Move Mountains

Right now I am working on a phenomenological case study of myself exploring the transactional relationship between a favorite object and occupation.

In simpler terms, I am writing about my favorite object and how it makes me… me.

I am writing about a letter written to me for my sixth birthday, how it has affected me over the years and the ways it has molded me.

It’s a letter I have referenced year after year as a reminder of who I am and who I am still becoming.

It has marked my life.

The writer passed away years ago when I was young; I doubt she had any idea the significance her words on that piece of paper.

However, it is that act long sense forgotten by her, and likely unknown to most around her that is now the topic of my paper in graduate school nearly 20 years later.

I write this in awe of the impact of simplicity as an encouragement to have faith for the littlest things to avail much. As it is written

For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you. (Matt 17:20)

Some days I get bored with the simplicity and monotony of my everyday life. What a reminder this serves of my ignorance of the potential that lies inside those things as simple as a letter written to a friend.

Leave a Reply

