Rich

This morning I found myself caught in Matthew 19, the story of the young rich man:

Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.’ When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth.Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Truly I tell you, it is hard for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of heaven. Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

Immediately the Holy Spirit began to convict me with questions arising in my heart:

what are my ‘possessions’

or more importantly,

what is it that ‘possesses’ me?

Jesus wasn’t just talking about material possessions. He was addressing the heart, mind, and life [of a good godly man].

What is it that I love so dearly or [have worked so hard to achieve] that I am hesitant or even unwilling to give up for the Lord of my life?

Though the list is long (im a work in progress) this stands out to me:

i am rich.

I recently spent the weekend with friends from highs school catching up on life and celebrating our friend’s marriage.

Last night I rendevoused with college roommates who know me and love me the same.

This evening I went to the wedding of my friend Mollie. Mollie, Lindsay, and I along with 3 other women went to China together last summer and share a heart full of love for Jesus, orphans, and children with varying abilities.

Tomorrow morning I’ll join two of my dear friends for church.

When I return home I will be welcomed by two godly parents [and a dog] who encourage, support, and challenge me.

Come Monday, I will welcome back my tribe of kids at Acamp. They bring excitement to my life, joy to my heart, and a smile to my face… everyday.

And let us not forget the guys I spend my afternoons with… who tell me I’m beautiful and sing to me of Jesus’ love.

i am rich.

Yet for some reason I still question God as to why it can feel so hard to leave one place and group of people to follow Him to another…? I’m just plain silly sometimes.

Leave a Reply

