Beautiful Tension

I’m not really a fan of transition.

I’ve transitioned many times in the last couple years, some of which I graced smoothly, and others that I struggled through

This I have found: in transition there is tension.

However, the tension is beautiful.

At the same time I am saddened in leaving, I am also excited to go. How is it that two seemingly opposite emotions can dwell together in the same heart at the same time?

That, my friend, is the beauty of it.

So often we are encouraged to seek out the most comfortable circumstance- to avoid tension. Somewhere along the road, we decided it is bad. We don’t want to hurt. We equated discomfort with evil, pain with that which is undesirable.

Though I definitely don’t seek out discomfort, I am not fearful of it. For it seems in some of my most uncomfortable situations, I have experienced the greatest comfort from God. I have experienced the greatest grace. I have experienced the greatest mercy. I do not know what tomorrow holds, but I do know who holds it, and I know that it is He who also holds my heart and establishes my steps.

And I kind of think that just maybe the tension in my heart where sadness and excitement dwell together, it comes from the love that He has placed in my heart both for where I have been and for where I am going. And I kind of think that may be what makes it so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

