fist pumps for Jesus

That is the face of joy. Not fleeting happiness, but the true and pure joy of the Lord. Isn’t it beautiful? Isn’t she? I wish I could have captured her face when she was yelling at the top of her lungs fist pumping in the air but that would have been too good to be true. Let me explain.

Since Easter is this weekend, Alexis prepared resurrection bracelets for everyone to make…. red is for His blood, green is for the grass, yellow the sun,  black is for sin, white is for grace that washes away the sin, purple for sorrow, and pink for the joy and hope for the new tomorrow. We broke that down a little bit more. And it was awesome. Everyone there could explain it. I loved hearing what they added in… like the girl in the picture.

I don’t know which bead they were on… maybe Alexis just asked her if Jesus was still dead. But at the top  of her lungs this usually quiet girl threw boths arms in the air as if proclaiming victory, squinched her eyes, and with one of the biggest smiles I have ever seen, shouted out HES ALIVE!

HES ALIVE.

ALIVE!

JESUS IS ALIVE!

Yes. My God’s not dead. He. is. alive. And her joy at remembering this- thats how I should be responding! As everyone joined together before we left to lay hands on one another and pray, I couldn’t help but be filled with joy, and wonder if it could be better- salvation, understanding, encouragement, healing, prayer?

But then it came to me. And I realized it does. Because our friends did not only make a bracelet with colored beads today. They tied the story of Jesus around their wrist, and made one for a friend. And since its a big deal every week who will get their craft, I have no doubt, that their extra bracelets and necklaces and stories will be shared with moms, dads, brothers, sisters, and the other workers. They are changing Waco.

My friends at Friends for Life are changing Waco. Probably the world too.

I’m so glad I get to be a part.

Leave a Reply

