I’ve been free.

1 I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. 2 I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you have established your faithfulness in heaven itself.      Psalm 89: 1-2

When I was 6 years old (I was a cute kid huh?), I began having daily migraines.

I started taking medication when I was in 5th grade.

And over the last 14 years, I have experienced the Lord’s love and faithfulness as a result. Abundantly.

He walked me through the months when we couldn’t work out medications and the headaches never ended. He gave me joy and taught me perseverance in the days when they took my vision or I was over medicated and dazed. I am so grateful for a God that is faithful to be with us on the good days and the hard ones—pouring out His love in ways we never imagined.

A year ago I went in for my checkup and feeling good about having my headaches under control (a couple a month) wanted to stop taking medication. With great wisdom, I was denied. Seeing my discouragement I was told that though it probably wouldn’t happen until I was 50 or so, one day I would grow out of my migraines. But if I made it a year without one, he’d take me off meds.

So I began praying. And had more headaches.

And then I had my worst. But that night on April 30 Jesus healed me.

Today I went back for my checkup. And after finals will go off of my medication.

I am free from migraines. I am free (or soon to be) from medication. But in my excitement the Lord continued reminding me that I have been free since He died for me on the cross. My eternity is secure. And one day I will walk in a freedom I cannot even imagine, where there is no pain! Not having migraines or having to take medication isn’t what makes me free, nor is it what makes God good, loving, or faithful. I was free long before. He’s always been good; always been loving; always been faithful.

And for that I rejoice.

2 responses to “I’ve been free.

Leave a Reply

