Give thanks

My semester is coming to an end, but I sure wish this was not the case. If only time would slow down… If only I had more of it?

The last five months or so have been marked by a richness that I cannot explain. The depth of the heart of God is great. And He continues to draw me closer. His promises are true. And His nature attests to it. As I look back on the past year, I could not be more grateful for the ways that He has worked in my life, for the men, women and children He has used to melt and mold and refine me, or for the things that the Lord has on the horizon.

As we launch into Thanksgiving, I think of the many things I am grateful for… and Ill post something of the likes later this week. But I also think of the origins of the holiday: the feasting, playing, and prayer of the pilgrims and Indians. But it wasn’t until the Civil War when Thanksgiving became a holiday. In the midst of hardship, grief, and loss of war, Abraham Lincoln declared Thanksgiving a national holiday.

Let us be grateful… whether on a mountain or in a valley, at peace or in the middle of war, grieving or celebrate. We have all been blessed with life and with God that loves us and works all things together for the good of those who love Him.

Rejoice always,  pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  Do not quench the Spirit. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-19

Leave a Reply

