Litany of Honesty

This was read at the keynote session for Be The Change last week… its taken me a while to get it up, but was too good not to put on here.

I cannot say “OUR”

if my religion has no room for other people and their needs.

I cannot say “FATHER”

if I do not accept others as brothers and sisters in my daily life.

I cannot say “WHO ARE IN HEAVEN”

if all my interests and pursuits are earthly things.

I cannot say THY KINGDOM COME”

if my needs and wants and agenda always come first.

I cannot say “ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN”

unless I am ready to give myself to God’s way here and now.

I cannot say “GIVE US THIS DAY OUR DAILY BREAD”

if I ignore the needs of my brothers and sisters.

I cannot say “FORGIVE US OUR DEBTS AS WE FORGIVE OUR DEBTORS”

if I continue to harbor a grudge against anyone or refuse to forgive them.

I cannot say “LEAD US NOT INTO TEMPTATION”

if I choose to remain in situations where I am tempted.

I cannot say “DELIVER US FROM EVIL”

if I am not prepared to fight against evil in m life and injustices in the lives of my sisters and brothers.

I cannot say “THINE IS THE KINGDOM, THE POWER, AND THE GLORY”

if my way of life does not reflect God’s way and I seek my own power and glory first.

I cannot say “AMEN”

unless I can honestly say also, “cost what it may, this is my prayer. Let it be so.”

One response to “Litany of Honesty

Leave a Reply

