Cord of three strands

I have amazing friends. I do. But for the most part, (with the exception to my time in Mexico), I hang out with them and spend time with them on a regular basis to maintain that relationship.

However, as Ecclesiastes 4:12 puts it, Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves, a cord of three strands cannot be easily broken. Here’s the deal. When Christ’s in every part of a friendship, it doesn’t matter if you get to hang out, live in the same country, or talk on a regular basis. You can pick up where you left off, and there in an amazing depth.

Example: The Shearers.

(Left to right: me, Ms. Shearer, Jaymie, Mr. Shearer… not pictured: Neil)

I met Jaymie and Neil at OGN 3 summers ago and have gotten to see Neil once since then and Jaymie each summer. Nevertheless there is a depth to our friendship that is only explained by having been from Him. And I couldn’t have been more excited or encouraged by seeing her last night even for a little bit. Even better, I got to meet their parents filled with warmth, and equal portions of encouragment. Truly an amazing family sold out for Christ. I love what Ms. Shearer said to me talking about her kids and coming down… she told me something to the effect of how they wanted to do as much as their kids and live up to them… but what better than to have their kids love Jesus so well? I want to be like her. Someday if I have kids I hope to stand in that same position with that same heart.

Leave a Reply

