Adventures in Mexico… thus far

Summer 2006: my first week in Ensenada, MX. 2 houses and VBS. Hearts were softened and only the Lord knew the work he was beginning. I would have laughed hearing where I am now…

Summer 2007: With a youth pastor’s prodding and plans that fell through… Ensenada round 2: 2 more houses, and a little more VBS. Still, I had no intention of becoming an intern. There were ‘other things’ I wanted to do…

Summer 2008 from May to August, I served as a missions intern with Real Life Ministries in Ensenada, MX: trusses, concrete, walls, electrical, lath, stucco… we built houses but presented homes. I couldn’t get enough.

Summer 2009: back in Ensenada for more but this time at Gabriel House,  caring for kids with special needs, teaching, doing therapy, mentoring, loving. Love is patient. Love is kind…. Love never fails. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.  

New Years ’09/’10: returning to the kids that had captured my heart, the people that have become my friends, and the place that feels more and more like home.

Casa Bethesda, Martin Luther King Weekend: Coahila, MX, another home for people with disabilities in Mexico… loving on and working with those there… learning so much from them. I will always be hit by needs but amazed by the joy of the Lord at work.

Leave a Reply

