Name __________.

Sometimes it’s nice to blend in and go unnoticed. To just slip through the cracks without anyone seeing. But when it all comes down to it, we all want someone to know our name. To notice us. Just to be known. It’s who we are.

Name.  Noun.  A word or words by which an entity is designated and distinguished from others.

We distinguish ourselves in many ways. Words: innotation, noise, choice of. Actions: in love, in hate, lack thereof. Physical Appearance: hair, face, size, clothing choice. And then the people we are around and their words, actions, and appearance. And so, through our words, our actions, and our appearance, we strive to be someone. To have a name. For that name to be known.

Last week I started attending el Templo Cristiano on Sunday nights. They already know my name. Of course it helps that I am the only white person there, but still, it felt so good to return to hear my name and to be greeted by the familiar kisses of the Hispanic church. Moment of honesty: I am a little unsure in the US whether or not to introduce myself in Spanish as ‘Hanna’ or ‘Hana’ or ‘Ana’ since everyone here is familiar with the name.  

What is best though is that there is always one who knows my name. and my heart. and my life. And yours. He knows me better than I know myself. And still: beneath my name, as He sees it all laid out before Him, my Jesus loves me.

Leave a Reply

