5 Simple Truths

Hanging out with people with special needs, I am coming to learn a couple truths:

  1. We only receive a glimpse of the cognitive abilities. Their potentials go far beyond what we know. There are a couple of people at Friends for Life that have pretty severe disabilities and thus sit off to the side in their wheelchairs. I don’t think I have ever seen some of them move. With blue play-doh in one guy’s hand I turned to one of the girls shaking my finger in jest, now if I give you red, you aren’t going to throw this at him or mix them are you? A grin spread across her face and she began to laugh as she threw her head back in her chair. Smiles followed… 
  2. playDoh2. Play doh is universal. It’s great for sensory integration and language acquisition for all abilities. However, you have to keep an eye on the play-doh: it’s likely to be ingested or launched across the room. Age and culture are seemingly unimportant—nevertheless kids and adults alike always seem to laugh after your finger comes out of their mouth or you return from the other side of the room. AY.Spring Fling 031
  3.  Dancing is the most hilarious uncoordinated thing EVER but it is soooo much fun. And I even fit in with this group! Whether in Mexico watching Ruben throw his hands up and down in the air and Josue bounce around, or here in the States, spinning around with wheelchairs and being spun around like never before, it brings smiles to everyone’s faces!
  4. Gabriel House 6084. Spending time with kids and adults with special needs brings joy. Whether in Mexico, the US, or somewhere completely different, it’s where God has called me. You make know to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand. Psalm 16:11 For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit Romans 15: 13
  5. There is always going to be a need greater than I can fill: a program that needs volunteers, a kid that needs therapy, a family that needs support, an orphanage that needs it all. I can’t do it. But I will keep pouring myself out until there is there is nothing left to give…  AND I serve a God bigger than all of those needs.
Leave a Reply

