Disturb Me.

My mind begins to race and I can feel the beat of my heart in every part of me as it pumps life through my body. But in that moment, it is merely my body that is here. It only takes a glance—a passing by to lift up the memories of yesterday, the dreams for tomorrow, and the emotions through it all. It only takes a moment’s discussion of brokenness to remind me of my own and a mere reference to the joy of the Lord to bring a smile to my face or tears to my eyes.

And with a racing mind my focus on school is broken. What I thought would just be a short conversation leaves me grasping for reconciliation. What I think will be an hour observation turns into two hours yearning for answers. My life is so comfortable here and honestly Im not sure what to make of that. While those I know and love don’t have enough I am living in abundance and surrounded by affluence. In these moments my heart yearns for justice for those taken advantage of, provision for those in need, families for the lonely and abandoned, and homes for those on the streets. I long for the day that our Savior returns, yet I wait patiently that not one would perish.

Nevertheless I am grateful. I am grateful for my brokenness. May I never cease to hurt for the abandoned, unwanted, and unable. May I be broken for the injustice in our world, for the hungry that go unfed while I feast, the homeless that sleep on the streets while I lay comfortably in my bed, and the unpaid workers awaiting their wages to try to barely support their families while I have money to spare. May I never be at ease, but instead pursue the Lord wholeheartedly with every aspect of my life and make Him

Prayer of Sir Francis Drake:

Maine 005Disturb us, Lord, when We are too well pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we have dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
With the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wider seas
Where storms will show your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.
We ask You to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push into the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

Leave a Reply

