And so it ends…

I built my last set of trusses, poured my first and last cement slab, put up my last set of walls, screwed in my last sheet of lath, and stuccoed my last wall. This afternoon, we presented the last house of the summer. We put the tools away in the shed, closed the door and locked it. We finished off the summer with fun and games amongst the staff, but it is still hard to believe that it is over. It is hard to believe that I have been here for eleven and a half weeks. Now, there is no more work to be done. It is finished.

However, although all the houses are done for the summer, God is still working and will continue to work long after I board the plane. I have gotten to witness God work in so many ways this summer, and I know that it is not just because I answered His calling to come here for a couple of months. There have been many people across the United States and in Mexico that have been praying for Real Life Ministries, Las Tres Palmas, and the work that we are doing, and without that we would not have been able to accomplish what we have done this summer. I am forever grateful for each and every person who has lifted me, the groups, the families, and the other staff up in prayer.

Because of prayers, house after house was built and presented to families in need. Week after week, we had nothing but dirt on Monday, and a house with four walls, a cement foundation, and a sturdy roof on Thursday. Needs were met for the family, and their cries to God for a home were answered. Groups came and went, and as they did, lives were changed. God opened the eyes and the hearts of the students and adults that came to see the needs and the people- their brothers and sisters in Christ- and to come to love them. We developed relationships with those we worked with and were able to hear about new senses of gratitude and appreciation. Hearts were touched, and lives were changed. We had almost no problems with students with attitudes or lack of respect for any of us as the interns and staff. We had few accidents (none serious with the exception of Ben’s knee which is now much better) and no one got really sick (not even me!). The staff grew together and became well… family. We now have a second home here in Ensenada that we know we can come back to whenever we need to.

I have been stretched, yet have learned patience and humility. I have learned to trust God in a whole new way. He is totally in control of everything and no request is too big or too small. He is so good and so faithful and so loving. I am falling more and more in love with Him every day, and I desire more than ever to serve Him. I don’t know where all God will take me, or what all He will ask me to do, but I feel like international missions will always be a huge part of my life, and I am eager to be used for His Kingdom as I return to Baylor.

Please pray:

1. That all that has happened this summer will not merely stay in Mexico, but will be a part of who I am and who I am becoming.

2. For the last days together with the other staff

3. For the transition from working and living in Ensenada, to going to school and living in Waco

4. That God will give me the words to say as I share with friends and family about the ways He has worked this summer

5. For safety in travel Monday to San Diego, CA, Tuesday to Little Rock, AR, Thursday to Marshall, TX, and Friday to Waco, TX

Leave a Reply

