Starfish, waves, and cool breezes

The starfish I found... what a gift“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of Heavenly Lights, who does not change like shifting shadows”   –James 1:17

 

God has given us so many gifts yet we so often forget to give HIM the credit for bestowing them upon us. This weekend as I sat watching the tide come in, God laid James 1:17 on my heart, giving me an awareness of all that He had given me that day, and an overwhelming sense of gratitude for each gift. Dennis and Debbie Hollenbeck are gifts from God. The waves crashing into the rocks down below is a gift from God. The starfish I had found earlier and thrown back into the ocean had been a gift from God. The sunset, the cool breeze, and warm fire were all gifts from God. Yet as I stared out across the Pacific Ocean, I was humbled by God’s omnipotence and overwhelmed by His love and care for me as His child. He created the ocean, the sun, and the wind, yet He still loves me, and cares about my worries, anxieties, and insecurities. What an amazing God!

Leave a Reply

