The week before week one…

As I sit here, two days before I leave for Ensenada, Mexico, I am completely in awe of God. He is so good and so faithful it is really quite overwhelming. It’s hard to believe that I am actually going, but it is so humbling to look back and see God’s hand throughout the process. Last year, I would have laughed at you if you had told me that I would spend 12 weeks in Ensenada this summer. In fact, when Debbie Hollenbeck approached me about it, I nodded and smiled and told her I would pray about it, but really I was just being polite. I had no intentions of giving up my whole summer to work with them. A month sounded nice, but I wanted to spend time with friends and maybe study abroad. Nevertheless, I prayed and God answered—just as He always does.

 

He began working in my heart as soon as we left, and when I received Spanish credits and got into a Spanish class specifically for Christian ministries, I realized that I should probably listen to God’s calling. As I prayed about the opportunity, God transformed my heart, mind and soul. He gave me a passion for helping His children and a desire to wholeheartedly serve Him. As the year passed, He continued to confirm His calling as He softened the hearts of my parents and provided the needed financial support. It has been such a humbling experience to have so many people invest in what God is going to do in and through me this summer, but at the same time I am so grateful for each of them and it is so encouraging to see God’s overwhelming faithfulness.

 

As I go, please pray:

  1. For safety in travel on Tuesday
  2. That God would prepare me for the summer
  3. That God would use me for His Kingdom
One response to “The week before week one…

  • Neil

    You know I am so pumped for you Hanna, because you are so pumped for this! Just send me an email and you know i’ll be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

